Don Patterson Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2: Just Friends

Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2: Just Friends
Get email alerts for Don Patterson
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $7 (58% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 9 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZDP 5237
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: December 14, 1999
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Red Top
  • 2.Freddie Tooks Jr.
  • 3.Last Train From Overbrook
  • 4.Embraceable You
  • 5.Sandu
  • 6.Sister Ruth
  • 7.Donald Duck
  • 8.Rosetta
  • 9.Under The Boardwalk
  • 10.Sentimental Journey
  • 11.Theme For Dee
  • 12.Just Friends

Product Description:

/Booker Ervin/Houston Person.
Personnel includes: Don Patterson (Hammond B-3 organ); Booker Ervin, Houston Person (saxophone); Pat Martino (guitar); Billy James (drums).
This is part of Prestige's Legends Of Acid Jazz series.
Personnel: Pat Martino (guitar); Houston Person, Booker Ervin (saxophone); Billy James (snare drum).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Recording information: 07/25/1967.
Although this is drawn from four different albums, it's basically a combination of tracks from just two sessions. And although the CD is billed to Don Patterson, Booker Ervin, and Houston Person, it should really be classified as a Don Patterson solo release, since he and drummer Billy James (not Grady Tate, as stated on the back cover) are the only musicians that appear on every selection. The first five songs comprise the entirety of Don Patterson's Four Dimensions LP, recorded at an August 25, 1967 session with Houston Person on tenor sax, Pat Martino on guitar, and Billy James on drums. The album is decent if unsurprising soul-jazz typical of Prestige releases in that genre during the late 1960s, and it gives Patterson, Person, and Martino all a chance to shine on solos. The remaining seven tracks were all recorded at a July 10, 1964 session with Patterson on organ, Booker Ervin on tenor sax, and James on drums, although they were originally released on three separate LPs (Hip Cake Walk, Patterson's People, and Tune Up!). Aside from the loss of guitar, they're not much different from the ones taken from Four Dimensions, despite the three years' difference; perhaps it swings a bit more lightly. Ervin sits out on Patterson's original ballad "Theme for Dee," which has some interesting stuttering keyboard lines near its conclusion. ~ Richie Unterberger
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,632
  • UPC: 025218523721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)