Ivan "Boogaloo Joe" Jones Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2

Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2
Get email alerts for Ivan "Boogaloo Joe" Jones
3 ratings
Sale: $17.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.55 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.43 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  356KH
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: January 26, 1999
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.No Way
  • 2.If You Were Mine
  • 3.Georgia On My Mind
  • 4.Sunshine Alley
  • 5.I'll Be There
  • 6.Holdin' Back
  • 7.Ain't No Sunshine
  • 8.I Feel The Earth Move
  • 9.Fadin'
  • 10.What It Is
  • 11.Let Them Talk
  • 12.Inside Job

Product Description:

Originally released as two individual albums, NO WAY and WHAT IT IS.
Personnel includes: Ivan "Boogaloo Joe" Jones (guitar); Grover Washington Jr. (tenor saxophone); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums).
Personnel: Boogaloo Joe Jones (guitar); Grover Washington, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Sonny Phillips (electric piano, organ); Butch Cornell (organ); Jimmy Lewis (fretless bass); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums); Buddy Caldwell (congas, bongos).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Richard S. Ginell.
Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (11/23/1970/08/??/1971).
Photographer: Don Schlitten.
A CD reissue that combines Jones' fifth and sixth Prestige LPs, Noway! (1970) and What It Is (1971), onto one disc. Grover Washington, Jr. (tenor sax) and Bernard Purdie (drums) are the key accompanists on both sessions. Noway! is a set of pretty funky early-1970s soul-jazz, though the covers of fairly straight pop numbers ("Georgia on My Mind," the Jackson 5's "I'll Be There") are kind of undistinguished. Better are the originals "No Way" and "Holdin' Back" (by Jones) and "Sunshine Alley" (by organist Butch Cornell), which have a more convincing groove. "No Way" is the toughest, with funk guitar lines betraying some influence from James Brown; "Holdin' Back" sounds a bit like a jazzy instrumental treatment of the kind of songs Marvin Gaye used to record in his early Motown days. Using the same personnel, Jones offers more good-natured funk-soul-jazz on What It Is. After getting a couple of contemporary pop covers (of Bill Withers' "Ain't No Sunshine" and Carole King's "I Feel the Earth Move") out of the way, it's mostly Jones originals. On his slower moments, as in "Fadin'" and Sonny Thompson's "Let Them Talk," he shows the influence of straight jazz players such as Wes Montgomery; "What It Is" and "Inside Job" are more cut-to-the-chase funk riffs. Jones has his cult following, but as soul-jazz goes, this is kind of run-of-the-mill: good for background, but not captivating foreground listening. ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 75,206
  • UPC: 025218520928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)