Get email alerts for Electric Light Orchestra
MEMORIAL DAY SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 88172
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 12, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 6/29-7/6/01, p.145
"...A brilliant cycle of Walter Mitty-goes-medieval fantasies that is grandiose and cheeky in equal measure..." - Rating: A
Q - 8/94, p.124
4 Stars - Excellent - "...mercifully concise set stuffed to the gunwales with immaculate pop epistles, fabulously carpeting strings, and Jeff Lynne's pop-panoramic production vision..."


  • 1.Eldorado Overture
  • 2.Can't Get It Out of My Head
  • 3.Boy Blue
  • 4.Laredo Tornado
  • 5.Poorboy (the Greenwood)
  • 6.Mister Kingdom
  • 7.Nobody's Child
  • 8.Illusions In G Major
  • 9.Eldorado
  • 10.Eldorado - Finale
  • 11.Eldorado Instrumental Medley: Eldorado Overture / Can't Get It Out of My Head / Laredo Tornado / Nobody's Child / Eldorado / Eldorado - Finale [Instrumental]
  • 12.Dark City

Product Description:

Electric Light Orchestra: Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar, Moog synthesizer); Richard Tandy (guitar, Moog synthesizer); Mik Kaminsky (violin); Hugh McDowell, Michael Edwards (cello); Michael De Albequerque (bass); Bev Bevan (drums, percussion).
Producer: Jeff Lynne.
Reissue producers: Jeff Lynne, Al Quaglieri.
Recorded at De Lane Lea Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Jeff Lynne.
Digitally remastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio (Sony Music Studio, New York, New York).
The Electric Light Orchestra: Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar, Moog); Mik Kaminski (violin); Hugh McDowall, Michael Edwards (cello); Richard Tandy (piano, Moog, guitar, background vocals); Michael De Albuquerque (bass); Bev Bevan (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Peter Ford-Robertson (vocals).
Recorded at De Lane Lea Studios, London, England.
Though 1974's ELDORADO is subtitled "A Symphony by the Electric Light Orchestra" and features both a portentous spoken-word prologue and an instrumental finale, this album marks Jeff Lynne's final break from classical-rock fusion in the Emerson, Lake & Palmer sense. Though there're a handful of recognizable lifts from classical and romantic composers, particularly in the swelling opening of "Boy Blue" and the grandly-titled "Illusions in G Major," most of the orchestral arrangements here are in service to Lynne's increasingly accomplished pop songs. One of those is "Can't Get It Out of My Head," a classic '70s pop ballad and FM radio staple that's among Lynne's very best work. Though this was the only hit single on ELDORADO, the rest of the album is nearly as strong. "Laredo Tornado," a Lennonesque mid-tempo strut recalling ELO's earlier hit "Showdown," is a particular standout. Worldwide superstardom was just around the corner.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,459
  • UPC: 886978817228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)