Triumph Surveillance

Get email alerts for Triumph
7 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.75 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $1.23 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
12 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y932
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 7, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Round Hill Records


  • 1.Prologue: Into The Forever
  • 2.Never Say Never
  • 3.Headed For Nowhere
  • 4.All The Kings Horses
  • 5.Carry On The Flame
  • 6.Let The Light (Shine On Me)
  • 7.Long Time Gone
  • 8.Rock You Down
  • 9.Prelude: The Waking Dream
  • 10.On And On
  • 11.All Over Again
  • 12.Running In The Night

Product Description:

Triumph: Rik Emmett (vocals, guitar); Mike Levine (bass); Gil Moore (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Steve Morse (acoustic & electric guitars);
Dave Tkaczuk (keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Joel Wade, Joel Feeney, Paul Henderson (background vocals).
Engineers include: Ed Stone, Noel Golden, Hugh Cooper.
Recorded at The Metal Works, Phase One Studios, Toronto, Canada.
Triumph: Rik Emmett (vocals, guitar); Gil Moore (vocals, drums); Mike Levine (bass guitar).
Audio Remasterer: Mike Levine.
All tracks have been digitally mastered using 24-bit technology.
Triumph attempted to rescue their ailing career with the creative about-face of 1987's Surveillance, an album that saw the veteran Canadian trio rejecting many of the commercial concessions adopted on recent efforts for a return to thundering hard rock with progressive rock flourishes emblematic of their early work. Yes, aggressive numbers like "Never Say Never" (clearly the album's statement of intent) and "Headed for Nowhere" (featuring a guest solo from Steve Morse) tended to be as clich‚d as ever from a lyrical standpoint, but they easily made up for those failings with Rik Emmett's reborn passion for biting -- heck, positively carnivorous -- riffs that seemed to beg fans not to give up on Triumph just yet! Calculated experimentation was also back on the menu, whether the group was looking ahead via the anthemic, crowd-baiting directness of "Long Time Gone" or harking back to those '70 prog rock roots via the keyboard-intensive "Carry on the Flame," which may have harnessed all of the era's novel synthesizer technology but still sounded curiously reminiscent of Kansas. Unfortunately, the album's overall grade was still diminished by its remaining selection of filler material (including the AOR-flavored mainstream single "Running in the Night"), but Surveillance's stronger cuts at least gave Triumph fans some kind of solace before the end, which would arrive in 1988 with Emmett's departure from the group, making this the final album recorded by the original trio. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,582
  • UPC: 713137801029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)