Tom Petty The Live Anthology (4-CD Box Set)

The Live Anthology (4-CD Box Set)
Get email alerts for Tom Petty
88 ratings
Sale: $23.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.29 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $8.69 (33% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  3724Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 23, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Reprise / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.88
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "The Grateful Dead's 'Fried of the Devil' gets a down-home charge; 'Diddy Wah Diddy' is a slinky winner...and a hungry take on Fleetwood Mac's blues-era 'Oh Well' show the Heartbreakers' roots."
Entertainment Weekly - p.95
"With all the hits plus an enjoyable assortment of rarities and covers, this anthology is a comprehensive portrait..."
4 stars out of 5 -- "Artfully patched together from scores of concert tapes, the set consistently catches the band in full flight..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.107
4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]ere's the Springsteen of the South live, 1978-2007. A very good thing..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Nightwatchman
  • 2.Even The Losers
  • 3.Here Comes My Girl
  • 4.A Thing About You
  • 5.I'm In Love
  • 6.I'm A Man
  • 7.Straight Into Darkness
  • 8.Breakdown
  • 9.Something In The Air
  • 10.I Just Want To Make Love To You
  • 11.Drivin' Down To Georgia
  • 12.Lost Without You
  • 13.Refugee

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Diddy Wah Diddy
  • 2.I Want You Back Again
  • 3.Wildflowers
  • 4.Friend Of The Devil
  • 5.A Woman In Love (It's Not Me)
  • 6.It's Good To Be King
  • 7.Angel Dream (No. 2)
  • 8.Learning To Fly
  • 9.Mary Jane's Last Dance
  • 10.Mystic Eyes

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Jammin' Me
  • 2.The Wild One, Forever
  • 3.Green Onions
  • 4.Louisiana Rain
  • 5.Melinda
  • 6.Goldfinger
  • 7.Surrender
  • 8.Dreamville
  • 9.Spike
  • 10.Any Way You Want It
  • 11.American Girl

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Runnin' Down A Dream
  • 2.Oh Well
  • 3.Southern Accents
  • 4.Crawling Back To You
  • 5.My Life / Your World
  • 6.I Won't Back Down
  • 7.Square One
  • 8.Have Love Will Travel
  • 9.Free Fallin'
  • 10.The Waiting
  • 11.Good Good Lovin'
  • 12.Century City
  • 13.Alright For Now

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Ryan Ulyate.
Liner Note Author: Tom Petty.
It's a commonly held opinion among fans and band alike that Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers' lone live album, 1986's Pack Up the Plantation, didn't quite capture the group at its peak, so there has been a long-standing need for another live set, which 2009's Live Anthology finally provides. Like its closest cousin, Bruce Springsteen's Live 1975-1985, Live Anthology almost overcompensates for the long wait by offering almost too much music, cherry picking highlights from 1978 to 2007. In its simplest incarnation, Live Anthology is a super-affordable, four-disc box set running 48 tracks, which is eight cuts longer than Springsteen's box, plenty long enough for most fans, but in its deluxe version, there's an additional CD, plus two previously unreleased DVDs -- a 1978 New Year's Eve concert from Santa Monica, a documentary called 400 Days shot during the Wildflowers tour -- a Blu-Ray edition of all 62 tracks on the five-CD version, a vinyl copy of the 1976 Official Live 'Leg LP, plus a book and lithograph, along with other assorted bonuses. Certainly, the deluxe edition lives up to its billing, offering enough extras to justify its price tag, but the standard edition is plenty generous as it is, serving up enough consistently strong music from throughout the decades, ranging from expert covers of Willie Dixon and the Grateful Dead to deep treasures from the Heartbreakers catalog. Apart from the tendency to favor performances that stretch on a little too long with jamming -- something that is a matter of taste, as some prefer energy to improvisations -- if there's any flaw to the set, it's how it goes out of its way to prove the band's consistency by skipping through the decades, letting a version of "Louisiana Rain" from 1982 sit next to a 1997 cover of "Green Onions" and "Melinda" from 2003. This certainly goes a long way to illustrating that Petty & the Heartbreakers always delivered the goods, but it's somewhat at the expense of forward momentum; it's hard not to wish that it was arranged chronologically, to be able to hear the raw energy give way to easy skill, but that's just nit picking -- any way you look at it, this Live Anthology offers an overdose of prime rock & roll. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 88 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Tom Petty rocks Music Lover: from SAN JOSE, CA US -- January, 9, 2018

Greatest live compilation I've heard. I've bought? this multiple times for gifts.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,560
  • UPC: 093624983699
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)