Shirley Scott Soul Shoutin'

Soul Shoutin'
Get email alerts for Shirley Scott
6 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34YR4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: January 10, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.The Soul Is Willing
  • 2.Yes, Indeed!
  • 3.Stolen Sweets
  • 4.I Feel All Right
  • 5.Secret Love
  • 6.Remember
  • 7.Soul Shoutin'
  • 8.Serenata
  • 9.Gravy Waltz
  • 10.Deep Down Soul
  • 11.In the Still of the Night

Product Description:

/Stanley Turrentine.
This reissue includes Shirley Scott's THE SOUL IS WILLING, originally released on Prestige (7267), and Shirley Scott and Stanley Turrentine's SOUL SHOUTIN', originally released on Prestige (7312).
Personnel: Shirley Scott (organ); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Major Holley (bass); Grassella Oliphant (drums).
Recorded in Engewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on January 10, 1963. Includes original liner notes by Robert Levin.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (Fantasy Studios, 1994).
Personnel: Shirley Scott (organ); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Earl May (bass); Grassella Oliphant (drums).
Recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on October 15, 1963. Includes original liner notes by Francis Squibb.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1994, Fantasy Studios).
Personnel: Shirley Scott (organ); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Grassella Oliphant (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Francis Squibb; Robert Levin.
Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (01/10/1963/10/15/1963); New Jersey (01/10/1963/10/15/1963).
Photographer: Esmond Edwards.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Grassella Oliphant; Earl May; Major Holley.
Organist Shirley Scott and her then-husband, tenor great Stanley Turrentine always made potent music together. This CD, which combines together the former Prestige LPs The Soul Is Willing and Soul Shoutin', finds "Mr. T." at his early peak, playing some intense yet always soulful solos on such pieces as Sy Oliver's "Yes Indeed," "Secret Love," and his memorable originals "The Soul Is Willing" and "Deep Down Soul." Scott, who found her own niche within the dominant Jimmy Smith style, swings hard throughout the set and (together with drummer Grassella Oliphant and either Major Holley or Earl May on bass) the lead voices play with such consistent enthusiasm that one would think these were club performances. Highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 025218514224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)